Happy .25 birthday, Xander!!

Xander will be 3 months old tomorrow.

The joy that he has brought into our lives in that short time is immeasurable.

I happened to look something up about diaphragmatic hernias yesterday (the condition X was born with) and was quickly reminded that the chance of survival is only 38%.  I think it’s safe to say that he hasn’t just survived. He’s thriving!

He’s become such a chunky monkey and the world’s happiest baby.  He smiles and laughs his days away.  My mom thinks it’s because there’s so much laughter around him on a daily basis.  He was born into a VERY happy home.

Tim has decided that 3 months is old enough to sleep in his own room. I have no doubt that he was ready weeks ago. It was me that needed more time. I’m sure I’ll be getting up a few times during the first few nights – just to check on him.

I’m going to spend some time this week scrolling back in my FB feed to the first few days after he was born. I want to print all the comments and prayers that were posted. I’m planning on starting a journal for him and I’ll include the printed pages. I want to be able to tell him how God was glorified through him – even from the first few hours of his life.

I will also print the epic stories about “Xander, Defender of the People” that his father wrote for him before he was born.  I want him to know how much he was loved and he prayed for, from the moment he was conceived.

His dedication on Mother’s Day almost seemed like a formality to me because we have placed him before the Lord since the day we found out I was pregnant.

I regularly tell him stories about God and how much He loves him. I know he can’t understand them yet – but I don’t think you can start that sort of habit too soon.

Plus, it helps me make sure I never forget that I am one BLESSED mommy!!

Posted on May 23, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

