I’ve been believing a lie…

Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall trouble or hardship or persecution or famine or nakedness or danger or sword?  [Romans 8:35]

I think I’ve bought into a lie … and I’m pretty sure I’ve helped others buy into it too.

Our current circumstances are not great. We are very honestly facing eviction if we don’t come up with a large sum of money within the next few days. Up until I blogged about it yesterday, we had only told a handful of people the truth about our situation.  Everyone said the same thing: “The Lord will provide.”  That’s exactly what I would say.  In fact, I have been saying that.  I have KNOWN that we will be able to keep our house because the Lord will provide.

But when Xander woke me up at 3:30 this morning, I started thinking.  It’s 6:00 now – and I’m still thinking.  What is the scriptural proof for that statement?  Does it really say anyplace in the bible that I will never be homeless because the Lord will provide?

Here’s the truth… there are homeless people all over the world that are much better disciples of Christ than I will ever be.

Since the first time I read it in my early 20’s, Romans 8 has been one of my favorite parts of the bible.  I love the thought that nothing can separate us from Christ. I never read it for what it really says until this morning.  It pretty much says that we could very well face trouble or hardship or persecution or famine or nakedness or danger or sword.  If that wasn’t true then why would we need to be told that those things can’t separate us from Christ?   I like to think about the assurance in Christ part but I don’t want to think about the fact that I may have to face down a guy wielding a sword at some point.

It reminds me of another widely quoted verses: Jeremiah 29:11. I’ve written that verse in countless graduation cards. It wasn’t until a few years ago that I discovered verse 29:10. This is what the LORD says: “When seventy years are completed for Babylon, I will come to you and fulfill my good promise to bring you back to this place.  So basically, what I told all those graduating seniors is “God has great things planned for you – but you may need to wait 70 years for any of them to happen.”   It just doesn’t have the same ring to it that way.

Where did we get this idea that bad things won’t happen to us because we follow Christ?  I mean, we know we’ll have rough days. But do any of us honestly think we will have to endure the stuff in Romans 8:35?  I’ll admit, I don’t really think I’ll ever have to go naked because I just simply don’t have clothes. But WHY don’t I think that?  People are living that way at this very moment. Even Christians (gasp). What’s so great about me that I should be more fortunate than other people?

I think I’ve bought into this Americanized gospel that says the Lord will provide for our needs – as we define them.

The Lord provided for my ONE AND ONLY true need when He sent his son to die for me.

Now the question is – if I end up naked, starving and running from a guy with a sword, will I still be able to love Him?

That’s the question I wrestle with today.

Posted on May 13, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. What a great reminder. You were on my heart as i drove to work today. I am praying for you. I love that in the midst of your struggles you are still serving the Lord by sharing His word. During the situations with my family recently, i have clung to I Thess 5:16-18, so tough to do, but I try :).

    • Such a great scripture!! You’re right, it’s so tough to do. Thank you for your prayers!! I’m praying for your family as well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

