Who’s body is this??

So, I gained almost 80 pounds during my pregnancy. As much as I tried to eat right and exercise, I definitely gained more weight than I planned. You know those pamphlets they give you in middle school about appreciating “Your Changing Body”?  I really think they should give pregnant women something similar. Nothing prepared me for what I saw in the mirror toward the end of my pregnancy!

Thankfully, a lot of it was fluid. I had already lost 20 pounds by the time I was discharged from the hospital. More of the weight came off during my NICU diet. I hardly left Xander’s side long enough to eat. Now that we’re home I’m still trying to watch what I eat and get some exercise. At this point, 9.5 weeks out, I’ve lost 53 pounds. But these last 25 pounds just don’t want to budge! Hopefully I’ll start to get the hang of being a mom so that I can get into a better workout routine and start cooking again – instead of just grabbing whatever I can find to eat and counting trips up and down the stairs carrying laundry as a workout.

And as long as I’m working on improving my health, I’ve decided not to stop at my pre-baby weight but keep working toward my pre-husband weight!  My total weight loss goal is 40 more pounds. I’ve never, ever worn a bikini and I certainly don’t plan on starting now but it will be nice to fit into my old clothes and feel healthier. Besides, it won’t be all that long before I have a toddler to keep up with.  It’s never too early to start training for that marathon! 🙂

Posted on May 3, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

