Things that are AWESOME!

After 3 months of blog silence, I’m tempted to start out with a promise to blog more regularly. But I know that’s not a promise I can keep.  So instead, I’ll just say this: I MIGHT start blogging more regularly.  I guess we’ll have to wait and see!

God has been so good to us.  As a reflection of that, here is a random list of things that are awesome.

I’m pregnant!  The first trimester was a bummer but I’m feeling better now and both the little one and myself are healthy.  I have several friends who are also pregnant – which multiplies the fun!!

A new school year has started!!  Some youth center students can’t get there during the summer because they don’t have a ride. Now that they can just ride the bus from school, they’ll be back!

The community continues to rally around the youth center.  I’ve spoken in several churches this summer and the question is always ‘how can we help?’  There is a contractor at the youth center today replacing the roof. The reformed church in town hired him. On Sunday a crew from the Baptist church will be coming to the center to replace a couple of broken windows, repair some gutters and build cubbies for students so that they can leave things there (extra clothes, etc).  All the churches run a wishlist in their monthly newsletters. We consistently receive food and supplies. What started out as a dark time (me losing my job at the church) has turned out to be the best thing that could have ever happened. God has me right where He wants me.

We found a house!!  A super sweet couple in our town are renting us a house for far less than what they could get if they listed it.  We will have room for the little one and even an extra room for an office. That will make working from home much more pleasant.  We’re scheduled to move at the beginning of November.

It’s fall… and fall is my favorite.

After a year of searching for a church to call home, we found one!  It has everything we’ve been searching for: solid, biblical teaching, powerful worship and joyful community.  It felt like home the minute we stepped out of our car and were greeted by the parking attendant.  They have a great children ministry that starts younger than most (which is a really big deal for me), an awesome youth ministry and they intentionally work to equip parents to be the spiritual leaders of their children.  After our very first visit, they sent us a handwritten note thanking us for being there … and a Dunkin Donuts giftcard.  They had me at hello.

So yeah, life is pretty much awesome.  What awesome things are going on with you?  Catch me up!  It’s been so long since we talked.  🙂

Posted on September 9, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

