What I’m using now

I’ve found some great resources to use in my outreach programs this spring!  I sometimes struggle to find things that will keep my students engaged and make them want to know more about God’s word. Most of the students I work with have little or no experience with the bible or church.  It’s been a relief to find things that they love and that help them really want to dig in to the scriptures.  I thought I’d share the resources in case anyone else out there wants to give them a try!

Crime Scenes from the Bible

This free resource from Paul Turner over a http://thediscipleproject.net/ has been a HUGE hit with the bible study group I meet with on Tuesday nights. This group sprung out of our outreach program and the participants are just getting started with the bible.

The lessons are based on crimes from the bible.  The favorite so far has been the story of Samson and Delilah. I tell the story in pieces and let them guess what’s going to happen next.  They love looking over the evidence and talking about the case. Each week I bring the evidence bags for the next case so that they can try to figure out what it’s going to be.

We’re having such a great time.  There’s always lots of joking around and laughing in the midst of actual learning. I’ve created a journal for each of them to take notes during the ‘briefing’ and there are reflection questions for us to discuss each week. I can’t say enough great things about this series. We are having a BLAST!

The other resource I’m loving is Did You Know? Devotions.  Even though it says it’s for children ages 6-10, I’ve been using it with my middle and high schoolers.  Each page starts with a trivia question. The one I used at Rec last night was “What really makes a bull charge at a red cape?”   There’s cool information about the topic and then a bible verse that relates to it. Last night’s was Proverbs 14:29. Those who control their anger have great understanding; those with a hasty temper will make mistakes. We discussed the fact that rage is a choice and that there’s a big difference between the bull and us. Bulls act on instinct and we have the power of reason.

The trivia is a great hook to get a discussion going. I’m really looking forward to using this book each week at the Tuesday night program and also on Thursdays at the after school program.

So there you go. Those are my favorite resources this spring. Check them out!

Posted on April 7, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

