Who do you tell your stories to?

There’s a great line in one of my favorite chick flicks, “Catch and Release”  – Jennifer Garner asks her love interest if he’s lonely and he says no. Then she asks “But who do you tell your stories to?”

That line is echoing in my head tonight as I read the accounts of the group of Youth Ministry bloggers on the ground in Haiti this week.  Some of them talk about feeling useless or inadequate… they all tell stories of the people they’ve met.

I have grieved for the people of Haiti. They are hungry, injured, homeless … they need so much.

But tonight another thought haunts me.  For me, telling my stories is the beginning of healing.  I think of the people of Haiti, what they have been through and continue to go through.

Who can they tell their stories to?  In a nation that’s grieving, who is there to listen to one person’s pain?

My heart goes out to the relief workers on the ground. The needs are so great and I can only imagine how it must feel to not be able to provide things like food and shelter.  However, the YMATH team has given the people they’ve met a precious gift. Someone to tell their stories to.

In an abstract way, it makes me think of the widow’s offering in Luke 20.  God doesn’t wish we had more to give – He asks us to give what we have and trust Him to do powerful things through us.

We all have something to give.

You can follow a list of the team on Twitter or read updates on their Facebook page. Please join me in praying for them as they lead the way for the rest of us.

Posted on February 13, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

