A return visit to WUMC

Yesterday morning, I returned to the church I worked for up until January 1 of this year. It’s hard to believe I’ve been away for an entire month already. I went to do a ministry presentation. To share about my new job.

Right before I got up to speak, my name showed up on the screen. It said “Sara Evanchick: Wayne County Ministry Update” … “But first, let us say thank you”

Then they showed this.

[clearspring_widget title=”Animoto.com” wid=”46928cc51133af17″ pid=”4b66c43d7d023abd” width=”432″ height=”240″ domain=”widgets.clearspring.com”]

Totally blew me away. When I did get up to do my update, I had to fight back the tears. I loved the years I spent working for WUMC and it’s been a tough month. I’m so pumped for what’s ahead!  But the transition is still not easy.

After my update they presented me with a gift and flowers. There was also a reception after the service complete with a cake and root beer floats. It was a great celebration!  It was so nice to see all my friends and some of the students I haven’t been able to connect with since I left.

It was also AWESOME to see a Rec student who has started attending the church since I left. He brings his younger siblings with him. They’re attending Sunday school and have been in worship every week this month.

A dear friend said a few words as she presented me with my gift. She said ‘we’re all looking forward to partnering with you in this new ministry” … that, in itself, is an amazing gift.

Thank you to all the people of WUMC. We’ve had some good times – and I’m confident we aren’t finished working together.  The relationship has changed but our common passion remains.

Posted on February 1, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

