Ministry Update: January 2010

This is the letter I sent out today. My first ‘Ministry Update’ with details of my new position.

I’m excited to share with you the news that I’ve recently joined the staff of the local para-church organization, Scarlet Thread Ministries, as a Site Director for the town of Williamson.

The mission of Scarlet Thread is this: To share the Gospel of Jesus Christ with every young person in Wayne County, and provide them with opportunities for spiritual growth through partnerships with local churches. This mission lines up with my heart’s cry to reach out to and invest in the youth of my community. For that reason, I’m thrilled to be a part of the Scarlet Thread organization and to continue doing youth ministry in Williamson, NY.

I’ve worked closely with Scarlet Thread Ministries for several years as a planning team member for the county-wide outreach event, Youth Extreme as well as the One Week and One Day workcamps.  Planning for Youth Extreme 2010 is already underway and planning for our workcamps will begin in February.  I look forward to taking on an even bigger role in these projects this year.

Since 2006, I’ve been blessed to work for a church with a great commitment to community involvement in Williamson, NY. I’ve had the opportunity to connect with students and families from outside the church walls as well as ministering to the youth of the church. As a Site Director for Scarlet Thread, I will shift from church based ministry to community based ministry.  I look forward to all the new possibilities this provides. As I continue investing in the lives of the young people I already work with, I’m excited about new opportunities to reach even more students with the gospel of Jesus Christ.

The Lord has given me great vision for what this ministry can look like. We are currently working on opening a fully operational youth center in Williamson.  In the next few months, I will begin to provide various opportunities throughout the week for un-churched students to begin digging into the word of God.  I’m excited to begin building discipleship/fellowship groups for middle and high school girls in the community and I am currently doing research in hopes of starting a free lunch program for middle and high school students during summer vacation.

I will also continue to connect with students at the Tuesday night Rec program and the “Haven” after-school program that reaches 15-20 middle school students each week will expand from once a week to twice a week.

I’m grateful for the support and encouragement of the pastors and church leaders who sit on the Williamson Fellowship of Churches. They truly have a heart to see young people’s lives transformed and I have been blessed by their commitment to this cause.  I will continue to work with them to support youth ministry across the community and transition ‘outreach’ students into healthy, active youth groups.

There are many ways you can partner with us during this exciting time! As we look to grow and expand our efforts to reach the youth of Williamson, we hope you can help.  We can use anything from gloves and hats, to snack foods, to Bibles, pens and notebooks… you name it.  If you have materials you believe would be beneficial to the ministry please contact me.

Even more than materials, we need volunteers!!   If you’d like to find out more about becoming a ministry volunteer, please give me a call. I’d love to chat with you about the needs we have and the opportunities that are available!

Also, we are forming a team of prayer warriors to intercede on behalf of the ministry, myself and most importantly, the youth of Williamson, NY.  If this sounds like something you’d like to be involved in, please let me know!

Lastly, as a missionary with Scarlet Thread I have the task of raising my own financial support.  Please consider becoming a financial partner with the ministry on a monthly, annual, or one-time basis.

I look forward to keeping you up-to-date on the exciting work the Lord is doing here in Williamson, New York. Please feel free to contact me if you have questions or would like more information.

Blessings!!
Sara Evanchick

Posted on January 27, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I so wish I could support you financially, but my tiny ministry paycheck doesn’t stretch very far. Can I be on your prayer team?

  2. Oh my gosh, I would love that Shana!! Thank you so much!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

