Divine Appointments


I wasn’t thrilled about going to the laundromat this morning. We’ve had over 4 feet of snow since Friday afternoon and it hasn’t stopped yet. Dragging my baskets down to my car in the cold/snow was not something I was looking forward to.

While I was waiting for my laundry to finish up in the washers, a man asked to borrow my cell phone. He introduced himself, made a quick call from my phone, thanked me and then we went back to tending to our laundry.  I later overheard him talking to another man about his two children.  I apologized for overhearing and then asked him if he was the father of two of my Rec students. His face lit up and he said he was. I told him that I knew the boys from the Rec program and how much I enjoy working with them.

One of the greatest privileges in being a youthworker is the chance to tell a parent how great their kids are!

I’m looking forward to a time in my life when I don’t have to go to the laundromat.  But until then, I’ll just be grateful that God can use me and bless me wherever I am … and I’ll try not to complain so much about dragging my laundry around in the snow.

Posted on January 6, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

