Psalm 16:8

I posted this piece of scripture as my facebook status this morning:
“I have set the LORD always before me. Because he is at my right hand, I will not be shaken.”- Psalm 16:8

My cousin, who has a lot of questions about faith and church, left this comment: Does this mean that if you are falling you put your hands out and they go before you to break your fall???

I’ve never thought of that scripture in exactly that way but her interpretation is exactly what I needed to see in that verse today. I do feel like I’m kind of like I’m in a free fall with everything that’s going on right now. There is great comfort in knowing that God is reaching out ahead of me to break my fall.

Do you ever wonder if your familiarity with scripture is getting in the way of God speaking to you through it?  I quoted that verse this morning knowing 100% that it’s true … but it took someone who isn’t familiar with it to give me the reassurance I really needed to hear.

Posted on August 20, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

