Trading My Sorrows

Crying may last for a night, but joy comes in the morning.  Psalm 30:5(b)

Haven’t updated in a while. Just haven’t known where to start.

Last week was the toughest week I’ve been through since I started working in ministry. I can’t go into much detail but I can say that one of our programs suffered a nasty blow. I was a wreck all day Wednesday and Thursday. I felt as if everything was crashing down around me and there was nothing I could do to stop it.

By Friday I was numb. It was my day off and, as instructed by a mentor in ministry, I spent it with friends. I’m grateful to have so many friends in the ministry. They “get” me.  They understand that this job is personal. That you pour your life into it and when things start to fall apart, it’s impossible to separate yourself from your work. Reading that – I realize that it doesn’t sound healthy but, like it or not, that’s where I am right now. Maybe as I gain experience I’ll learn how to balance things better. Maybe not.

Anyway, that’s not the point. The point is that I shared my story with a few trusted friends and asked them to pray. They did. I know for sure – because things started to turn around. That’s the power of prayer.

By Saturday I started to gain some clarity. I saw a way out of the corner we had been backed in to. I saw the opportunity for repair and a bright future for the program. It will continue and it will be better than ever.  God continues to bless this ministry and He will see us through this storm.

Lessons have been learned, tears have been cried, baked goods have been consumed, screams have been directed toward heaven. PRAYERS HAVE BEEN ANSWERED.

Time to regroup, refocus, recharge and rejoice.

Posted on October 13, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. It’s not so much about balance, as it is about passion. When it doesn’t have your heart, when you don’t ache for them anymore, then there’s something wrong. The hard truth is ministry can really hurt, even when we’re doing it exactly right. I’m sorry for the hurts, but I know they bear fruit thanks to faithful prayer, to seeking His face, His heart for these little images of Him we serve. I’m so glad we serve a God that answers! (And, I’m glad you had faithful friends to walk through it with you!)

Leave a Reply

