The Youthworker’s Prayer

This prayer is from “The Book of Uncommon Prayer.”  We used it on Sunday during our commissioning service. I just emailed it out to all the leaders so that they can print it and hang it up somewhere.

The Youth Worker’s Prayer…
I am your servant, God.
Where you want me to go, I will go.
Point the direction. Show me the way.
You called me to work with your young people.
They want to hear your voice, God.
They want to know you.
Help me show them the Creator of the universe.
Send me enthusiasm when I don’t feel enthusiastic.
Send me patience when I’m out of it.
Send me large shoulders to lean and cry on.
Send me ears to hear the things that aren’t being said.
Send me eyes to see beneath the surface.
Send me words to say when they ask the hard questions.
Give me the ability to laugh at myself.
I am your servant, God.
Where you want me to go, I will go.
Point the direction. Show me the way.
Amen.

Posted on September 9, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

