Conviction in a nail salon…

This actually happened to me a few weeks ago but I can’t get it out of my head so I decided to post about it.

One of the few things I will splurge on is an occasional manicure. It’s a rare treat to be told to sit still for 30 minutes and it’s always nice to be pampered.

Anyway, I went to a new place last time and the sweet woman who did my manicure for me had the nastiest nails. I mean NASTY. Yellowed and cracked and obviously neglected. I thought to myself ‘this woman makes her living making people’s hands/nails look good and she can’t take care of her own?!’

And then that pesky Holy Spirit threw a punch.

You see, I am like that sometimes. I concentrate so hard on making sure that my students and families are spiritually healthy and fed that I neglect my own walk with God. I allow my relationship with Jesus to get yellowed and cracked while making sure that everyone else is on track. OUCH!

Thanks for the wake up call, Lord. I’ll work harder to stay close to You.

Posted on August 1, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I know I’ve been there before. It was a hard thing for me to come to grips with. And to make things worse, I had ugly nails, cause I bite them! Nice post.

Leave a Reply

