Sunday nights…

Just got home from our weekly “Justified” youth service. (Romans 3:23-24)

Up until about 3 weeks ago we were meeting upstairs in the sanctuary. Now don’t get me wrong, we have a beautiful sanctuary. I love spending my Sunday mornings there. But on Sunday nights, I’m much happier jammed into a corner of the education building with 25 teenagers doing rockin’ worship and watching hilarious video clips. I can’t think of a better way to spend my evening. I love our students so much. They really do rock my world.

I meant to have someone take pictures tonight but I completely forgot. I really need to get on that.

Also… In an effort to avoid a major case of burnout (which I’ve felt on the horizon the past few weeks) I’ve started going through a book called “Breathe: Devotions for the Youthworkers’ Soul”

Here is an excerpt from Day 10

When the unexpected happens, do you ever exclaim, “Can you believe it?”

It’s also a good question to ask about your faith and in your ministry. Can you believe it? All those promises. All those words of encouragement and truth. All those stories. All those students.

As a leader in ministry, you’re expected to stand up and shout it – “I believe!” But sometimes believing is hard.

Take a deep breath.

God walks with you throughout your entire journey – through belief and doubt.

Each day has journaling questions and an opportunity for prayer. It’s good stuff. I wish it was longer than 21 days.

Right now I’m going to unwind and settle in for the night. A brand new week starts rolling in about 9.5 hours. I better get some sleep so that I’m ready.

Posted on March 10, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

